Faculty_button

Faculty

Department Chair: Dr. Michael Crenshaw, crenshaw@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Associate Chair: Dr. Brian D. Thoms, bthoms@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Physics Graduate Director: Dr. Xiaochun He, xhe@gsu.edu
Astronomy Graduate Director: Dr. Sebastien Lepine, slepine@astro.gsu.edu
Physics Undergraduate Advisor: Dr. Brian D. Thoms, bthoms@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Astronomy Undergraduate AdvisorDr. Ben McGimsey, mcgimsey@astro.gsu.edu

 Yohann  Yohannes Abate
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6104
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: yabate@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics
 Apalkov  Vadym Apalkov
Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6016
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: vapalkov@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics
 Megan Connors
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): TBD
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email:mconnors@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web:Home Page
Research Areas: High energy nuclear physics
   Mukesh Dhamala
Associate Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6043
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: mdhamala@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Biophysics and Brain Sciences
 Diatz  Nikolaus Dietz
Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6002
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: dietz@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics
   Gary Hastings
Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6055
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: ghastings@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Biophysics
 XiaoChun  Xiaochun He
Distinguished Professor
Physics Graduate Director
Phone (Office): (404)413-6051
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: xhe@gsu.edu
Web: Nuclear Physics Group
Research Areas: High energy nuclear physics
 Von_Korff_webpage_picture  Joshua Von Korff
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6009
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: jvonkorff@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Physics education
   Alexander Kozhanov
Assistant Professor
Phone: (404)413-6084
Email: akozhanov@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed Matter Physics
 Ramesh  Ramesh Mani
Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6007
Email: rmani@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Research, Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter physics
Steven_T._Manson Steven T. Manson
Regents' Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society
Phone (Office): (404)413-6046
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: manson@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Atomic and molecular structure and collisions
UnilPerera Unil Perera
Regents' Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, Society of Photoinstrumentation Engineers
Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Phone (Office): (404)413-6037
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: uperera@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Condensed matter/ Semiconductor optoelectonics/ Nano sensors
 Stockman Mark Stockman
Professor
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, Optical Society of America
Fellow, International Society for Optical Engineering
Phone (Office): (404)413-6038
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: mstockman@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Theory of nanoplasmonics, nonlinear, coherent, ultrafast and ultrastrong field phenomena in nanooptics
 MuradSarsour Murad Sarsour
Associate Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6077
Email: msar@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Experimental nuclear physics
 Brian  Brian D. Thoms
Associate Professor, Associate Chair & Physics Undergraduate Advisor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6045
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: bthoms@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Physics Education Research (PER) and Surface Science

Fabien Baron
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6087
Email: baron@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Image reconstruction from interferometry
  Misty Bentz
Assistant Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6082
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: bentz@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Active galaxies and quasars; Black hole mass
  D. Michael Crenshaw
Professor, Chairman
Phone (Office): (404)413-6036
Email: crenshaw@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Active galaxies and quasars; UV and X-ray spectroscopy
  Douglas R. Gies
Regents' Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6021
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: gies@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Be star phenomena, hot stars and stellar wind
 todd_henry_100 Todd J. Henry
Distinguished Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6054
Email: thenry@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Nearby stars, stellar masses and life in the universe
  Stuart Jefferies
Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6017
Email: sjefferies@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Seismology of the Sun and giant planets; space weather; high-resolution imaging; image restoration; space situational awareness
Sebastien Lepine
Associate Professor
Astronomy Graduate Director
Phone (Office): (404)413-6020
Email: slepine@astro.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Large astronomical surveys, archives, and catalogs. Astro-informatics and data mining. Nearby and low-mass stars. White dwarfs.Exoplanet surveys. Optical spectroscopy and stellar classification. Stellar kinematics and Galactic structure
faculty-martens Piet Martens
Professor
Phone(Office): (404)413-6612
Fax: (404)413-5481
Email: martens@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Solar Physics, Solar-Stellar Connection
  Rachel Kuzio de Naray
Assistant Professor
Phone(Office): (404)413-6086
Email: kuzio@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Galaxies, dark matter
 pratt Jane Pratt
Assistant Professor
Email: jpratt7@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Computational Astrophysics; Computational Plasma Physics
  Russel White
Associate Professor
Phone (Office): (404)413-6018
Fax: (404)413-6025
Email: white@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Planet formation, fundamental stellar properties

 

 

 

    Sumith_Doluweera  Sumith Doluweera
Senior Lecturer
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6074
Email: doluweera@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Physics of strongly correlated electron systems, Physics education and Medical imaging.
 John_Evans  John Evans
Senior Lecturer
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6076
Email: jevans@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Physics Education & Innovative Instruction
  Jeremy Maune
Visiting Lecturer
Office: 1 Park place  (Room 426)
Phone: 404-413-6095
Email: maune@astro.gsu.edu
Research Areas: AGN, micro variability in blazars and Seyfert galaxies
   Ben Q. McGimsey

Lecturer, Astronomy Undergraduate Advisor
Office: 1 Park Place (Room 429)
Phone (Office): (404)413-6026
Email: mcgimsey@astro.gsu.edu
 Ruili Wang
Lecturer
Phone (Office): (404) 413-6080
Email: rwang3@gsu.edu
Research Areas: Biophysics, Physics Education and Innovative Instruction
John Wilson
Senior Academic Professional
Phone: 404-413-6035
Email: wilson@astro.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research: binary stars, education

  Dr. Rafal A. Angryk
Mailing Address:
Department of Computer Science
P.O. Box 5060
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30302-5060
Phone (Office): (404) 413-5729
Email: rangryk@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Area: Astroinformatics, Solar Data Mining, Big Data
 Gennedy  Gennady Cymbalyuk
Associate Professor Department of Neuroscience
Phone (Office): (404)413-6001
Email: gcymbalyuk@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Biophysics, Dynamic Neuroscience
 Edward  Donald Edwards
Regents' Professor Department of Neuroscience
Phone (Office): (404)413-5394
Fax: (404)413-5446
Email: dedwards@gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Biophysics, Dynamic Neuroscience
 Brant Johnson
Phone: 912-495-8427
Email: brant@bnl.gov
Consulting Email:brantmjc@gmail.com
Research Areas: Nuclear Physics

 Frank Hsu
Phone (Office): (404)463-9918
Email: fhsu@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Position Annihilation
 Harold A. McAlister
Phone (Office): (404)413-5484
Email: hal@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Optical arrays, speckle interferometry, stellar masses
 H. Richard Miller
Email: miller@astro.gsu.edu
Phone (Office): (404)413-6023
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Microvariability in active galactic nuclei extragalactic astronomy
 Carl Rod Nave
Author of Hyperphysics
Phone (Office): (404)413-6050
Email: rodnave@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
James E. Purcell
Email: JpurJim@comcast.net
Research Areas: Theoretical nuclear physics, nuclear data compilation and evaluation at TUNL
 David W. Wingert
Phone (Office): (404)413-6019
Email: wingert@astro.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Interstellar medium, stellar evolution

 Merida Batiste
Email: batiste@astro.gsu.edu
Research Areas: Active Galactic Nuclei
 Zineb Felfli
Email: zineb@phy-astr.gsu.edu
 Ian Ferguson
Dean Engineering & Computing
Missouri University of Science & Technology
305 McNutt Hall ROLLA MO 65409 USA
Phone (Office): (573)341-4778
Email: ianf@mst.edu
Web: Home Page
 Brian Kloppenborg
Email: bkloppenborg@chara.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page
Research Areas: Optical interferometry of stars and novae; high performance computing; GPU computing
Deepak Raghavan
Office: 25 Park Place - Room 624
Phone: 404-413-6044
Email: raghavan@astro.gsu.edu
Stephen T. Ridgway
Phone (Office): (502)318-8297
Email: ridgway@noao.edu
 Theo ten Brummelaar
Director of the CHARA Array
Phone: (626)796-8607
Email:theo@chara-array.org
Michael D. Williams
Professor and Director of the Center of Excellence in Microelectronics and
Photonics
Department of Physics
Clark Atlanta University
223 James P Brawley Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
Phone: 404-880-6258
Email:michael_williams@avs.org
 Hsiao-Ling Zhou
Email: zhou@phy-astr.gsu.edu
Web: Home Page